Home > GIDE Dataroom > Working with Projects

Working with Projects

A project is an independent and integrated space on a MS SQL server, in the form of an independent database. In GIDE, a project consists of at least one or more models comprising statements and accounts. Some tasks require the intervention of the MS SQL server administrator. 

The following operations are allowed:

 

 

Opening a Project

Under Projects list, mark the project in which you would like to work. You can open a project by marking it in Projects list, by double–clicking or by clicking the Open Project button.

 

Copying a Project

A copy of a project contains all the models, accounts, formulas and values that are present in the original project at the moment it is copied. In the list of projects, right-click on the project you want to copy. Then select Copy Project from the context menu, or click on Copy Project. In the window that displays, you must enter the Name of the database under which it will display in the MSSQL system, along with the name of the project under which it will display in GIDE’s list of projects. Confirm your choice by clicking on Confirm.

 

Deleting a Project

Deleting a project will also remove all that project’s models, accounts and values. In the list of projects, right-click on the project you want to delete. Then select Delete Project from the context menu, or click on Delete Project. This operation cannot be undone.

 

Assigning an Authorized User

Only users who have been defined in the database, whose names appear in the GIDE users list, have potential access to a project; and only authorized users listed under Authorized project users have active access. Only an authorized user who is also entered in the database as an administrator can assign access. This is done by dragging and dropping from the GIDE users list to the Authorized project users list, or double–clicking on the marked line.

 

Assigning Rights to Users

Under Permission, Authorized project users, there is a list of all users with access to at least one model of the active project. After you mark a user, all the project’s models, and the given user’s access rights to these models, will display in Models with assigned access rights.

Only an authorized user who is also entered in the database as an administrator can change user rights to individual models, by right–clicking on the desired model. Then clicking on the relevant item will bring up the options: No Access, View–only Data, Access to Modeling Functionality, and Design Model Data.

Rights can also be assigned by using the marked model’s context menu, and selecting the desired option.

 

New User

Only a user with administration rights can create a new GIDE user and set access rights. The administrator clicks, in the Home tool bar of the Users section, on the New User icon. In the window that displays, you must enter the User Data: Title, First Name, Last Name, and login information (User Name and Password).

 

Delete User

Only a user with administration rights can delete a GIDE user. In the Users section of Home the administrator marks the user to be deleted and clicks on Delete User.

 

Modify User Data

Only a user with administration rights can change a GIDE user’s data and login information. In the Users section of Home the administrator marks the user whose data should be modified and then modify user’s data or login information.

 

Assigning a User to a Project

The administrator clicks on any user in the list of GIDE users. In the projects section, for a given user there are windows – Authorized and Not Authorized for projects. The administrator can then move projects from Not Authorized to Authorized by dragging and dropping, and in the Model Permissions in Selected Project window can assign the user permissions to individual models.

 

Removing a User from a Project

The administrator clicks on any user in the list of GIDE users. In the projects section, for a given user there are windows – Authorized and Not Authorized for projects. The administrator can then move projects from Authorized to Not Authorized by dragging and dropping. The user can be reassigned permissions to a project at any time.

 

People who read this post also read:

Working with Models Working with Statements Working with Accounts