Home > GIDE Dataroom > Users, Roles and Permission

Users, Roles and Permission

After initial installation, there's only one user created in GIDE acting as system administrator. This user should be used to create all other users and set their required permissions. The detailed process of creating/maintaining is covered in User's Manual. This document focuses more on the roles and their permission.

There's only one role that can be assigned to a user on global (system) level. If you select a user in HomeAdministrationUsers, you have the choice to select Is Administrator check-box. Having the option set, the user becomes a system administrator who is entitled to:

  • Manage snapshots
  • Manage automated data imports (full or partial ones)
  • Manage project services
  • Manage projects (this include copying, deleting and assigning of users)
  • Manage GIDE users
  • Manage models and define user permissions
  • Modify Groups of Previews in Previews Management module

 

Each user may or may not be authorized for a Project. This assignment can be modified either in Users or in Projects screen of the Administration module. An authorized user has a certain level of access to models belonging to the project. Users not authorized for a specific project have no access and can't work with any of its models.

You can assign more detailed permissions for currently opened project in HomeAdministrationPermissions screen.

Note: To open a different project you can any time open the Home → Administration → Projects screen, select the desired project and click Open Project button.

If you select a user (in Permissions screen), you may check the Is Project Administrator check-box. If checked, the user becomes a project manager who is entitled to

  • Manage snapshots
  • Manage automated data imports (full or partial ones)
  • Modify Groups of Views in Views Management module

The selected user may be assigned a separate access level to every model existing with the project. The administrator can choose from the following access levels:

No Access – completely denies access to the model

View-only Data – user can only view the model

Access to Modelling Functionality – entitles user to modelling functionality, which means:

  • Changing of input values
  • Changing cell formulas

Design Model Data – entitles user to a full range of activities, e.g. creating, deleting, modifying of models, accounts, formulas, reports, etc.

 

People who read this post also read:

SQL Maintenance Starting the GIDE Troubleshooting the Services